Thankfulness In All Circumstances

I have been adding the devotional, Jesus Calling by Sarah Young, to my daily bible reading time. Many of the daily devotions surround the theme of thankfulness in all situations. March 25th’s devotion is much the same……”LET THANKFULNESS TEMPER ALL YOUR THOUGHTS. a thankful mind-set keeps you in touch with Me. I hate it when My children grumble, casually despising My sovereignty. Thankfulness is a safeguard against this deadly sin. Furthermore, a grateful attitude becomes a grid through which you perceive life. Gratitude enables you to see the Light of My Presence shining on all your circumstances. Cultivate a thankful heart, for this glorifies Me and fills you with Joy.” 1 Corinthians 10:10 – And do not grumble, as some of them did-and were killed by the destroying angel. Hebrews 12:28-29 – Therefore, since we are receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, let us be thankful, and so worship God acceptably with reverence and awe, for our God is a consuming fire.

It’s easy to be thankful when the skies are blue, the birds are singing and everything appears to be running smoothly. But how thankful am I when my neck and shoulders are aching, I’m behind schedule and one of my car tires is flat. My pastor recently said something that got my attention, “when your eyes are on your circumstance, that is your god”. Yikes! So my husband took our car to the shop to be fixed and the shop said we needed a new tire because it had been slashed on the side wall and was not a nail in the tread like we had thought. Wow! Someone slashed our tire! How mean! Then I started to think of what I could be thankful for in this situation. First, thankful we have two cars and our family travels in a pack so we were not kept from getting to any of our events. Second, thankful God has been such a faithful provider for our family and we had the funds to purchase a new tire. Now truthfully I would have preferred to spend the tire funds on something more fun, but thankful none the less to have access to the funds. And third, God is my protector and my vindicator. No one was injured by driving with a slashed tire and I do not have to burn with anger about who would do such a thing because my Father in Heaven will take vengeance on my behalf as he sees fit. Not that I’m really looking for someone to get hurt on my behalf, but all those thankful things together allow me to let go and let it be God’s to deal with. Jesus said we would experience trouble, but do not fear because He has overcome the world. So we experienced trouble, but it did not overwhelm or overtake us because God had already gone before us and we were well taken care of. May our thankful hearts be a pleasing worship to our God Almighty. Jen

Leave a Reply

