The Grace of God


But by the grace of God I am what I am, and his grace to me was not without effect. No, I worked harder than all of them-yet not I, but the grace of God that was with me. (1 Corinthians 15:10).
I am so thankful for God’s gift of grace to me in offering salvation that I did not earn and would never be good enough to earn. God offers us the gift of salvation and we have the free will to accept or deny it. As a child of the One True King he loves you and me with an everlasting love that cannot and will not be broken. As a child of God he calls me to himself and longs for me to desire to be in relationship with Him. To sit at his feet with my eyes upon his holy scriptures letting them seep into the deepest marrow of my body and soul. Not because I have to, but because I get to. Not just reading for the sake of checking off my list of to do’s, but applying the scriptures to my life and seeing the effects of change emerge. To allow God to speak to my circumstances and lead me and guide me in the path he has designed for me. Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says. Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like a man who looks at his face in a mirror and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like. But whoever looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues to do this, not forgetting what he has heard, but doing it-he will be blessed in what he does. (James 1:22-25). The scriptures always provide opportunity for me to have a daily attitude check. To get my eyes off my circumstances and on my Creator, King of Kings, provider, healer, my all in all. It reminds me of the lyrics “Turn your eyes upon Jesus, Look full in His wonderful face, And the things of earth will grow strangely dim, In the light of His glory and grace.” The time in the word and time listening to God speak to me helps to align myself with him and to prepare myself to be a part of his kingdom purposes. My attitude change, my heart change, my purpose change, etc. do not happen without the presence of God. God does actively pursue me, but change only happens when I agree to cooperate with him. When I let go of things in my life that are counter to his word. It’s not a life of striving and trying to be better in my own efforts, but allowing God to change me from the inside out. When I am determined, and acknowledge that I can’t do a day without God and his input in my life, I see fruits of the spirit pouring out of my life, the joy of the Lord is my strength and I am able to do greater because of him who is alive and well in me. I am living an abundant life and I no longer desire things in my life that are counter to his word and I seek to please him and I trust him in all areas of my life and under all circumstances. Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3:5-6. Let us be aware to not let grace be a gift where we remain the same and continue on in our own ways, but let the power of God change us, heal us and revive us to be all he has planned for us to be. For I know the plans I have for you, “declares the Lord,” plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future (Jeremiah 29:11). That’s good news! Jen

Leave a Reply

