CAF ARTICLE: The Noise

Oh, the noise, noise, noise……just like the Grinch said about the Whos in Whoville, I too find that I have to filter out all the noise so that I can hear the Shepherd’s voice. My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me John 10:27 NIV. Being in God’s word daily helps me to hear the Shepherd’s voice. I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you Psalm 119:11 NIV. I meditate on your precepts and consider your ways. I delight in your decrees; I will not neglect your word Psalm 119:15-16. Reading my bible daily and memorizing scripture is a great way that I hide God’s word in my heart. When I’m facing a challenge the Holy Spirit reminds me of scriptures that lead me in the right direction. But the Counselor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you John 14:26 NIV. If I am not consistent in my pursuit of God’s word then I lack the protection and power that I receive from God’s word. I lose the confidence of what God’s way is and how to follow him. I may begin to hear other voices from our world and it’s culture and not be able to discern truth. I may be easily deceived to believe a lie because I did not guard my heart and mind with the truth of God’s word. Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life Proverbs 4:23 NIV. Trust in the Lord with all your heart and not lean on your own understanding Proverbs 3:5 NIV. Instead of leaning on what seems right in my eyes or someone else’s eyes I can trust and lean on the truth of God’s word. God is good and his word can be trusted. He’s yet to lead me in the wrong direction. As the scripture says, “Anyone who trusts in him will never be put to shame” Romans 10:11 NIV. There are so many different worldviews on every issue under the sun. It can be exhaustive to consider all of them. But when I stop listening to the noise of all the worldviews and keep my eyes and ears attentive to my Shepherd I have peace and assurance that my Shepherd will lead me in the right direction. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light Matthew 11:29-30 NIV. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus Philippians 4:7 NIV. Now that’s some good news! May you be blessed in Jesus’ name. Jen

Leave a Reply

