CAF ARTICLE: Alone At Your Jordan

Happy Wednesday to you. Hope your journey with the Lord is healthy today. I am still working my way through Oswald Chambers’ book, “My Utmost For His Highest”. I have the link below to the full devotion for August 11th, but I want to focus on this part of the devotion.

Alone at your Jordan. 2 Kings 2:14. Jordan is the type of separation where there is no fellowship with anyone else, and where no one can take the responsibility for you. You have to put to the test now what you learned when you were with your Elijah. You have been to Jordan over and over again with Elijah, but now you are up against it alone. It is no use saying you cannot go; this experience has come, and you must go. If you want to know whether God is the God you have faith to believe Him to be, then go through your Jordan alone.

This section really resonated with me as I reflected a season I went through last fall. Being a parent of adult children can be really tough sometimes. Some seasons are tougher than others. For me there came a time when God lead me to institute some tough love and it was tough for everyone involved, but in retrospect it has turned out to be the best choice for our family. Go figure, God leads you the best way.

This became a really lonely season in my life because there were a lot of people who disagreed with my steps. I had to come to terms with whether I was going to trust God in what steps He lead me in or was I going to be overcome by what my peers thought I should do. God gave me direction, knowledge and scripture. I should have had no doubt, but there were times I questioned myself. There was one night in particular that I cried out to God and he was silent. His spirit was there, I was not alone, but He had already directed me in the way I should go. It came down to was I going to please men or please God. I chose God. Some of those relationships are still strained, but I know that I made the right choice.

It was a really rough season in my life. I think it was the first time I had to really stand firm and slay the giant myself with the strength, wisdom and knowledge God had provided. It had to be my decision to stay and slay and not run away. It was a really lonely time in my life, but I learned a great deal through it and although some wrinkles of the situation are still being ironed out things have worked out for the greater good. God is good! All the time, God is good. Jen

http://utmost.org/this-experience-must-come/

IMG_0745.JPG

Leave a Reply

